prepping for the new year, iStyle

December 29, 2015 at 23:22 2 comments

who got a fancy ipad/iphone/ipod/ianything for christmas?! i’ve been an apple user for 7 years and maybe i should be embarrassed about this, but i use apple products every day for almost every aspect of life.  chilling in front of the tv, learning new skills online, teaching homeschool, listening to and reading literature, accountability for fitness and health, grocery shopping, the oh-so-useful GPS… i could go on and on!

whatever your new year’s resolutions are, i can guarantee that you’ve resolved to make yourself better.  i’m a big fan of making my tools work for me, so be prepared to combine the efficiency of apple stuff with your new year’s resolutions.

i’m splitting this post up into 3 parts; spiritual, mental, and physical health.  hopefully one or all of these categories will match up with the goals that you’ve set for yourself in 2016.

spiritual health:

i feel like bilbo baggins each morning when i attempt to leave my bed.

“It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.”

the second i step out of my bed, i am immediately “swept off”.  if i want to have any quality quiet time with God, it must be the very very very first thing i do each day.  so i reach for my phone and open up the olive tree app. you may not be into e-bibles, but just like that famous photography quote: the best bible is the one that i have with me.


 Screen Shot 2015-12-29 at 22.52.53 .png what i like about olive tree as a bible app is this: no internet connection required to read, my bookmarks, highlights, notes are all synced between my idevices. i can organize my notes and tag verses for quick reference.  so many reading plans and bible translations (both for free and for purchase).

i open my bible, select the reading plan that i’m working through (goals: chronologically through the whole bible in a year), and read it. when i get to the end of my passage, i select “done”.  most-satisfying.


Screen Shot 2015-12-29 at 22.34.25 .png

sometimes there will be a verse/passage that stands out or is relevant to where i am in life, and i’ll want to meditate on it for a while. i open up typorama, and build myself a new phone wallpaper.  the app is really easy and fun to use, and after staring at the same verse while making it look pretty, i feel like i’ve hidden the words in my heart.  plus every time i turn on my phone, that verse is the first thing that i see.  typorama is free, but if you pay the one-time fee, you can unlock all of the font options, remove the watermark, and create your own watermarks (which is where i usually put the scripture reference).  my advice is to play with the free version for a while and see if  this app works for you before you spend money on it.

D542CA58-1E36-4850-8D3C-493349DF5B92.JPG


Screen Shot 2015-12-29 at 22.49.35 .png

and my final app that i open before being “swept” out of my bed, is the echo app.  my favourite function of echo, is the ability to hashtag each prayer request with a day of the week or topic, which allows me to sort and organize my prayer life.  you can also set a timer if your goal is to pray longer, and there’s an encouraging “answered” button underneath each request.  i love that.  you can also set reminders to pray throughout the day.  again, this app is super-simple to use.  it’s also free!

9A145471-0913-47E7-AEDD-ECE89A1CECCD.JPG

once i’m done reading & praying, i feel prepared for the day ahead, and already have a feeling of accomplishment.

tomorrow i’ll talk about things that i do to improve my mental health, and depending on the length of that post, i may double up with the apps that i use to improve my physical health.

please leave a comment telling me the ways that you improve on your spiritual life! there’s definitely always room for improvement, and i welcome the advice!

Entry filed under: health. Tags: , , , , , , , .

don’t believe my kids prepping for the new year, part 2

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


my life in pics

"my abs are turning purple"
so much fun with the youth kids today! I wish we could do this every week!
#excel_cbc @nettie_hoskin23 is boss with candy floss 😎 that time that a pillow pet saved @bmcorvera and I, with our horrible parking skills. 😂

