one month project

November 29, 2011 at 23:40 3 comments

it’s been a while since i’ve done a “one month at a time” self-bettering project.  don’t know what i’m talking about?  in short, i like to fix me.  if i want to become the person i want to be, i have to make it happen.  i’m not talking all spiritual here, i just mean stuff like better posture, better eating, less sleeping (i hate that month!). basic things that make me feel like i’m accomplishing something more than what comes naturally.

sometimes people join in with me and that’s kind of nice.  especially when it’s healthy month– that’s a good one to have some extra support in.  december however, is NOT healthy month. nohoho sir.

instead of denying myself christmas cookies and egg nog, i’m going to deny myself stress.  stress+holidays=not what the holidays are all about.

december is “go to bed with a clean house” month.  it doesn’t have to be perfect (unless you’re berni), but it has to be clean enough that when the house meets me in the morning i am happy to see it.

benefits (because sometimes people need to be sold on this stuff):

1. no “to do” list getting between you and a what you really want to do in the morning.
2. christmas decorations can be visible and enjoyed.
3. your husband will love you even more (as if that were possible!)
4. photos.  a clean backdrop for all of pictures you’ll take of your kids decorating christmas cookies, or making christmas crafts– you know you’d take more photos if there wasn’t embarrassing stuff in the background!
5. in my experience, i do more when i have a clean house.  i’ll bake a pie for elliot because all of the measuring cups are clean and there’s space to roll out dough on the counter.  or i’ll pull out the craft bin for the kids to experiment with because i know that the contents won’t end up mixed in with all of the toys that are already on the floor.

okay, so my examples do not reflect my house!  well not all at once, anyway.  and as of this month they’re not going to reflect it EVER.    or at least for december.

anyone in?

Entry filed under: one month at a time.

quality christmas gifts that i’m excited about, and a little update

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kristi-Anna  |  November 30, 2011 at 09:57

    oh I think I like this one!!! We put the tree up on Sunday, and there’s misc crap everywhere…. things that got moved, etc. We have OODLES of snow gear… way more than our children need. I listed it on kijiji, but I haven’t sold any, even tho it’s dirt cheap. Instead of storing it, I am going to start by sorting it and taking it to our school… some kids are collecting it for another low income school for kids who have no outerwear. I think I will feel better doing that, then making money…. and the clutter will be gone! :)

    Thanks Joan!

    Reply
  • 2. Carol  |  November 30, 2011 at 13:20

    Great idea Joan! I’m in.

    Reply
  • […] also been 100% successful at going to bed with a clean house every night as stated in our terms of agreement for the month of december.  i’ve recently discovered the overdrive app for my ipod,  which […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


my life in pics

3 different types of wool and several froggings later- i finally have my finished star stitch pouch! great pattern by @allaboutami! mistakes aside- i'm happy to have a proper home for my tombows. swipe left to see pics of my creative kids joining me for a crafty afternoon!
#crochet #tombowusa getting ready for a tasty girls' night! 
#sushi #butcooked one of the biggest and unexpected blessings of youth ministry, is having former youth kids turn into adults who invest in my own children. so thankful to have the amazing @sarahpowerscyr for a violin teacher.

