i think you and my friends should hang out on the weekend

November 8, 2011 at 15:05 5 comments

do you know what i love to do?  sleep on the train.  the soporific waving and lurching knocks me right out despite the fact that i may drool in public.   there’s a perfect seat just beside the stairwell on the upper level that calls my name.  the end of “aisle” seat is walled off by the staircase railing, and for some unknown reason, there’s no armrest separating the two side-by-side seats.  it’s the perfect place to use my backpack as a pillow, curl up and succumb to the pull of gravity on my eyelids.

you know what i can’t do when my kids take the train anywhere with me?  yep.

not only can i not sleep, but i have to battle the temptation that grows stronger with each and every station stop.  it’s not really a complaint, because i love my kids.  but sleep and i have been friends for a really long time, and when we cooperate with each other it’s so much better than when we fight.

so this past weekend i took the train down to niagara for one of the legendary knitting parties, and the kids stayed home with derek.   and even though i hated saying goodbye to my family, i LOVED being able to close my eyes on the train without even an ounce of resistance.

bliss.

could there really be anyone out there who loves sleep as much as i do?   didn’t think so.

anyway…. train.  sleep. knitting party.  result:

pattern link

Entry filed under: crochet.

kettle corn! autumn+camera+goodfriends

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Krista B  |  November 8, 2011 at 15:11

    SO cute! I have a pattern like this but still need to learn to crochet… :( Why does it seem harder than knitting?

    Reply
  • 2. April  |  November 8, 2011 at 16:03

    Oh I wish I could come to a knitting party and you could actually teach me something! That is adorable.
    I totally know what you mean. I am the same way in the car. Thankfully Mark drives. I sleep.

    Reply
  • 3. Bernadette  |  November 8, 2011 at 22:01

    The last time I took the train I was convinced that the guy down the aisle had a weapon in his dufflebag. I couldnt stop staring at him even though Greg was furious with me, and then the guy started to stare back. Greg said it was because I made him uncomfortable… uncomfortable, or was it guilty? Hmmm… anyway, he ended up moving to another seat on the lower level and I felt I had saved our lives although Greg wouldnt talk to me for a while after that.

    I really dont know how you sleep on that thing.

    Love the hat :).

    Reply
  • 4. bononers  |  November 9, 2011 at 00:01

    krista: it IS harder than knitting! but not really any harder than i remember knitting being when i was first learning. google “craftyminx crochet school”!
    april: i wish you could come to a knitting party too! i also sleep in the car, so when i HAVE to drive, i’m accompanied by gummi bears.
    bernadette: hahahahahahhaha! wow… i can totally see you making the guy with the dufflebag suspicious! he probably wrote a blog somewhere about a crazy blond who was giving him the shifty-eye while he was trying to ride the train.

    Reply
  • 5. vanessa f  |  November 13, 2011 at 19:28

    I totally wanted to do this!! …but didn’t want to buy the pattern…
    nice job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


my life in pics

i want him! 🐶 first time making sunscreen in december! i know this stuff works with canadian summers- time to do some product testing a little further south. 
#essentialoils #homemade #julienneandjelsi finally won a game tonight, and got kitt off the T! such a fun night.  #squash

