that’s a lot of hair

July 11, 2011 at 18:48 3 comments

this summer i’m going away for a whole week and leaving the kids with derek.  he’s an excellent father, but he’s not so good with the hair.  specifically, anne’s hair.  she’s got a ton of it, and i’m pretty concerned that when i come home after being away, her mop will be so knotted that her quest to become rapunzel will be at an end.

so today i did a test run of the only solution that i can think of for this problem.  it took me an hour, but if it works then it’ll totally be worth it.   she has white girl hair so it’s guaranteed to frizz up, but i can guarantee that frizzy braids will be much easier to deal with after a week of being ignored than loose hair would be.

the braids are easy enough to put away into a ponytail (although derek probably won’t do the elastic wrap thing… slacker!)

and i’m also hoping that the braids will help to keep her noggin cool during this heat wave.  if you’ve never had long hair then imagine putting a wool blanket over your head and down your back, and try to get through the day without daydreaming of shaving it all off à la G.I. Jane.  in fact, just thinking about how hot my noodle is right now makes me want to try out the braid thing on myself.

hopefully this technique will work and i’ll have one less thing to occupy my thoughts while i’m away next month.  if it doesn’t then i’m going to have to find a way to sneak the girl into my backpack and take her and her crazy amount of hair with me.

Entry filed under: anne.

summery summary Very quickly:

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jen Heemskerk  |  July 11, 2011 at 20:21

    The song “I whip my hair back and forth..” just came to mind!=)

    Reply
  • 2. April Angell Hardwick  |  July 12, 2011 at 00:42

    Her hair is gorgeous. I’m jealous of your braiding ability. I can braid but no french braids in our house. I just can’t get it.

    Reply
  • 3. Julie  |  July 12, 2011 at 13:07

    You should definitely let Anne watch that on YouTube! Also- so gorgeous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


my life in pics

beautiful day for playing with guns 🔫 i know that i'm not easy to love: i can't be baked for, cooked for, or touched. i'm independent to a fault, and yet, you all keep finding ways to cover me with love and encouragement. big public thank you to my family and friends for persistently showering me with blessings, encouraging texts, and for continually bringing my family to God in prayer. we took family night to derek tonight, and filled that room with laughter!

