who wants a free owl?

May 23, 2011 at 00:28 13 comments

i got this book for mother’s day:

and i also accidentally washed anne’s legwarmers in warm water several months ago and ruined them.  the combination of my failure, and the gift rewarding my awesome mom-ness resulted in:

the above book by Amy Adams (NOT the same amy adams who plays giselle in enchanted) is so great because it combines toy-making (which i love), re-using materials that would otherwise have been thrown out (or thrown into the back of anne’s sock drawer), and making something completely by hand.  no machines were used in the construction of the bird, and that’s totally my kind of craft.

if you know me at all then you’ve probably noticed that the bird is pink.  like, alot.   therefore, i can’t keep it.  i thought a give-away on the ol’ blog would be fun; so all you have to do to win this little owl is leave a comment.  it should be themed though… so let’s go with the “nocturnal” theme:  leave a comment confessing what you’re usually wasting your time on when you stay up way too late.    if you’re reading this on facebook and want to enter, you’re going to have to go to the original post because randomly generating a winner will be too difficult with comments in two places.

let’s say that the contest officially closes on may 25th at 13:22.  looking forward to reading your comments!

ps: i’ll only ship to canadian addresses!

Entry filed under: knitting, sewing.

baby pictures my kids are famous!

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Meagan McGraw  |  May 23, 2011 at 00:35

    When I stay up to late I find myself wasting time on FaceBook, Stumble, and looking at pictures on google. I also find that I catch myself thinking about the most odd things, and my thought process isn’t even understandable.

    Reply
  • 2. Manda  |  May 23, 2011 at 08:15

    I use to stay up way to late watching stupid tv shows for teenagers, checking out my favourite blogs and reading posts on my favourite forums. Someday I strive to get back to this. (Because its a good way to waste my time)

    Now I stay up way too late feeding the baby, thinking about how many hours sleep I could get if she went to sleep right now and didn’t wake up until morning. Then in 2 hours I feed the baby and think about how many hours sleep I could get if she went to sleep right now and didn’t wake up until morning… its a cycle that keeps on going. However, I would say this is a better use of my time.

    Reply
  • 3. Pauline  |  May 23, 2011 at 08:33

    When I stay up late I’m either on facebook, playing Zuma Blitz, or reading Joan Gilmore’s blog. When I’m not on the computer, I am sitting on the couch having a conversation with my husband that goes like this…Me: “I need to go to bed…”
    HIm: “no..just rub my back for 5 more minutes…”

    Reply
  • 4. Jen Heemskerk  |  May 23, 2011 at 08:40

    If you call staying up until 10 nocturnal…then I’m in! I usually spend some time photoshop my children from the photos that were taken during our adventures that day, while listening to Focus on the Family podcast. And because the kiddies aren’t around, I usually indulge in something chocolatey…Whooonu!;-D

    Reply
  • 5. April Hardwick  |  May 23, 2011 at 10:10

    All I ever do when I stay up late is sit and think of you. I read your blog, and stalk your facebook. Then I sit and review my day, taking a hard look at the way I acted and ask myself “WWJD” (What Would Joan Do?)
    _______________________
    I know you’re picking with a random number generator but just thought I’d sufficiently creep you out before you picked :D

    Reply
  • 6. Bernadette  |  May 23, 2011 at 10:33

    I stay up way too late, mostly because I’m a new mom. Jasmine goes to bed at 8pm, and any hours left to me after that are the hours I use to reclaim my sanity. I craft, I knit, I bake, I get caught up on emails and clean my fridge. When Greg finally drags me to bed I procrastinate by closing myself into the ensuite with mud masks and my manicure set and/or a hot shower. Once I’m IN bed, I will fight my exhaustion with angry birds or the current novel I have in iBooks.
    Usually, between the hours of 2 and 3am, Greg will wake up, reposition me (head on bedside table, legs twisted in covers), take away my iPad, find the tv remote on the floor and turn off the television.
    That’s how I do nocturnal :).

    Reply
  • 7. Andrea Brown  |  May 23, 2011 at 11:36

    It’s always YouTube… I’ll think of a clip from a show I want to watch and then watch “just one more” until it’s way late.

    Reply
  • 8. chewbacca  |  May 23, 2011 at 22:30

    Joan ❆ Gilmore>Natasha Hauber
    “You can still enter the draw :P just confess that you only stay up under duress.”

    Reply
  • 9. Mama  |  May 24, 2011 at 13:59

    I am usually up later than usual reading my emails; facebook; and then get into playing Boggle and jewel blitz. And if I am not doing that I am reading a Mary Higgins Clarke Novel until the iphone falls.

    Reply
  • 10. my kids are famous! « bononers  |  May 24, 2011 at 22:37

    […] let me draw your attention to the draw for a free hand-made softie if you happened to miss that one.  you have until some random time tomorrow to get your comment in […]

    Reply
  • 11. Desiree  |  May 25, 2011 at 07:34

    I stay up way too late reading the news on my iPhone and huddling under the covers while my imagination gets the best of me. I keep telling myself to stop but the app on my iPhone taunts me and says ‘just look one more time’. I really should just delete it, because reading the news at 3am while feeding the baby really isn’t good for my marriage either because everytime I read something I wake Jason up to tell him about it, and often when he catches me reading the news he tries to grab my phone away from me and tells me to stop.
    Oh, and also, my son (your favorite nephew, Gavin) loves owls :)

    Reply
  • 12. erin  |  May 25, 2011 at 10:02

    I don’t stay up late these days. BUT if it did….it would be reading a book.
    I love the owl.

    Reply
  • 13. Julie  |  May 25, 2011 at 10:02

    Hmmm- I watch mindless tv with Bruce until I say I REALLY need to go to bed and he says, un huh, and before I know it I am enthralled in a rerun of auction hunters or river monsters. I try to never do anything productive after 8pm!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


my life in pics

finally turned our dining room wall into a gigantic whiteboard, and we're so happy with it! (tip: two coats, let it cure for a week. we did neither of those and i regret! but i love the wall so much anyway).
#homeschool #rustoleum "my abs are turning purple"
so much fun with the youth kids today! I wish we could do this every week!
#excel_cbc @nettie_hoskin23 is boss with candy floss 😎

