baby pictures

May 17, 2011 at 21:11 4 comments

i am unofficially my sister desiree’s official photographer.  while i have absolutely no intention of going professional with my hobby,  i have enjoyed being the photographer for her wedding:

maternity/family shots (blogged about here):

and the most recently, here new son’s baby photos:

i took the shots in my parents sunroom, at the end of a crazy day just as the natural light was about to fade.  desiree brought a blanket and stuffed animal props, but we were über short on time and sunlight, so we didn’t go too crazy with the set-up.   i used the prime 50 lens exclusively and did minimal post-editing in picnik.   when i’m framing a shot of my kids or like the above wedding photo, i like to include beautiful surroundings to compliment the subject of the photo and to help tell the story.  taking a picture of a baby sends me in the opposite direction, because the child is so beautiful on his/her own that absolutely nothing else is required.

what i love most about being my sister’s official unofficial photographer is seeing pictures like her maternity belly shot juxtaposed with the baby that was once hidden from my camera.  there’s an inexplicable thrill that i can’t seem to put into words to think that when i was taking pictures of her belly just a few months ago, i was taking pictures of my precious new nephew.   and that when i was taking her wedding photos, i was documenting the beginnings of a new family, a new generation.

i am a story-teller.  i write when i’m overwhelmed and need to sort it out,  i make up stories to tell my children and have goals of writing them down one day along with the true and crazy story of growing up with 6 siblings.  when my appendix was exploding and i was being prepped for surgery (forever ago) i remember constantly murmuring “this is going to make a great story” over and over.  and i take pictures to tell stories.  these pictures of my sister and her family are bookmarks in the chapters of her life, and THAT, is exactly the appeal of photography for me.

Entry filed under: photography, sisters.

my school is better than your school who wants a free owl?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jen Heemskerk  |  May 17, 2011 at 21:15

    I concur! Great photos! A job well done my friend!
    P.S. I’m thinking a spontagnious trip to Parkwood sometime soon and we can collaborate!

    Reply
  • 2. Bernadette  |  May 17, 2011 at 21:24

    Very cute :). I would write more, but Greg isn’t home and I hear a strange noise coming from the kitchen.

    Reply
  • 3. Pam  |  May 17, 2011 at 23:22

    I’ll get an honourable mention in the appendix story, right? Love your pics!

    Reply
  • 4. pintrest, and photographing toddlers « bononers  |  October 21, 2012 at 21:06

    […] ps> location: botanical gardens in niagara falls pps> more photo shoots with this family are here and here. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


my life in pics

finally won a game tonight, and got kitt off the T! such a fun night.  #squash someone needs to up their prank game @ bedlam.
#rookies #excelcbc my heart is all topped up after a wonderful reunion with @hannahchristief ! #sisters4life

