how’s healthy month going?

January 26, 2011 at 22:49 2 comments

when i posted the invitation to join me in my 30-days of healthitude, i got quite a few responses of people committing to exercise, eat well, or be generally healthier.  we’re 20 days in, and i’m curious to know how you’re all doing!  for my part, things are going like this:

commitment #1: drink water.  gonna give myself a B- in this one, because there have been days where i could have hit my quota, but was feeling belligerent about the whole thing.
commitment #2: exercise 3x/week.   that one deserves an A++  ’cause i’ve been exceeding that one without fail.  very little of the exercise has been at the gym though, since by the time the kids and i are done walking all over the city (now that we only have the one vehicle) and once i’m done shovelling our huge driveway every day that it snows, i’m pretty beat!  when i go a day without exercise and no snow in the forecast, i hit up the Y and bike for a while.
commitment #3: food.  i decided to count calories instead of omitting junk.  i love junk!  i use the LoseIt! app on my ipod touch to count calories, and it’s just the best one out there.  i’ve tried a few, but the ability to input my own recipes and figure out calories/serving is pretty much the handiest thing ever.  i give myself a B for this one because although i’ve been awesomely under-budget for each week, there was one day that i went extremely over (ahem… knitting party!).

so that’s where i’m at two-thirds through this healthy month.  what about you guys?  also, if you’ve found a tool that helps you stay motivated, please share.  when i went searching for a link for the LoseIt! app, i discovered that you can actually just use your PC if you don’t have an iphone or ipod touch.  i recommend checking it out!

Entry filed under: one month at a time.

glimpse of the future birthday party

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Julie  |  January 26, 2011 at 23:05

    Well I am finished Day 20 of the 30 Day Shred with Jillian Michaels and have lost 5 lbs, and over 12 inches (overall). So, I am pleased. And I haven’t skipped a day yet!

    Reply
  • 2. Andrea Brown  |  January 26, 2011 at 23:38

    Hey Joan! I’ve been trying to work out 4-5 days a week. I can’t afford Toronto gyms (so expensive!!!) so I work out with my DVDs at my apartment… I bet my downstairs neighbour loves me!

    I’ve been sticking with it and when I skip a workout, I am racked with guilt and actually miss the workout. So basically, I’ve become one of those people that I think are crazy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


my life in pics

some people came for the food, i went for the company. #youthministry #babyfix beautiful day for playing with guns 🔫 i know that i'm not easy to love: i can't be baked for, cooked for, or touched. i'm independent to a fault, and yet, you all keep finding ways to cover me with love and encouragement. big public thank you to my family and friends for persistently showering me with blessings, encouraging texts, and for continually bringing my family to God in prayer.

