here we go again!

January 5, 2011 at 13:30 5 comments

healthy month starts tomorrow!  from january 6-february 6 myself and a few friends are going to commit to a month of being good to our bodies, and i’m posting the rules up here in case anyone else wants to join in.   but first, some context:

i don’t do new years resolutions because they never ever work, and everyone knows it.  instead i try to better myself one month at a time, and over the last few years some of these efforts have even turned into positive habits.  i wrote all about it on my old blog, so i’m not going to do it again.  shall i link, or just cut & paste? ….  both!
_______________________________________________________

7/15/2007

one month at a time

i’m okay with who i am, but i know that i can be a better person.  i have this mental list of who i want to be and what i want to accomplish, but reality doesn’t seem to be able to read my handwriting.  i’d love to be self-disciplined enough to transform my life over night, but i’ve tried- and it doesn’t work.  so instead of getting frustrated at my failure to live up to my expectations, i’ve decided to be who i want to be, one attribute at a time, one month at a time.
it started a few months ago with eating healthily, and i found that by the end of the month, i was not only enjoying the benefits of a more healthy diet, but also the rewarding experience of accomplishing a goal.
how long is a month really?  yeah, it’s anywhere from 28-31 days but i’m not talking about actual time span.  a month is nothing.  how many times have you heard festive music playing in the mall and thought “it’s christmas already?!  i swear that school just started.”
i know that it’s impossible for me to live up to my own expectations of the person that i think that i should be.  but whether it’s spending more time with my Saviour or practising my flute or eating healthily…i think that maybe, just maybe i can get there slowly- one month at a time.
_______________________________________________________
so i wrote that 2½ years ago, and i’m still doing it!   there have been a few months off here and there, but for the most part it’s been pretty constant.  i usually start at the beginning of a month, but realistically, new years day is an awful day to start trying to eat healthily.  i needed the extra few days to get holiday chocolate and baking out of my house.  also, anne’s birthday is on the 7th of february, and i think that eating birthday cake with her would be the perfect end to my healthy eating month.
so here are the rules that i’m following, but if you’re joining me then you can make up your own rules- the point is to just stick with something for 30 days.
1. drink my water!  i used to be so good at this, but now i’m horrible.  the best way is to buy yourself a pretty water bottle and fill it and drink it at every meal.  that way it’s easy to get your 2L in each day.  i remember when i first started that discipline, it felt like i was drowning.  but that feeling passes as the habit forms.
2. exercise 3x/week.  it shouldn’t be too difficult.  walk instead of drive, or hit up the gym if you have a membership.  i know that almost everyone in north america has at least one work out DVD or wii game or whatever in their home!
3. food.  this is the hardest one for me, because i have such a sweet tooth!  sometimes it’s a month of no sweets or fried stuff, sometimes it’s a month of counting calories.  i’m still undecided on which one i’ll choose, but it’ll be one or the other and i still have 12 hours to decide.
so if you’re in, then i recommend leaving a comment with your intentions for the month as a means of accountability and commitment.  i’m curious to see what a healthy month would entail for some of you!

 

Entry filed under: goings-on.

the week before christmas glimpse of the future

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bernadette  |  January 5, 2011 at 13:40

    NOT in with the healthy eating, because I love Greg and I know he would suffer the consequences of me living without sugar. BUT, I have been thinking of walking or running to and from work on the nicer days, its only 2.5kms away.
    Water tastes better if you filter it through coffee beans, fyi :). If you look at it like that, I drink a LOT!

    Reply
  • 2. Julie  |  January 5, 2011 at 21:58

    K- my goal is to do the 30 day shred for… 30 days! Coupled with healthy eating. Nothing extreme, just reducing sugars and fats. I aim to lose 10 lbs and 10 inches. I may be over-reaching, but it’s only 30 days, right?!?!

    Reply
  • 3. so many quotation marks! « bononers  |  February 14, 2011 at 18:08

    […] been thinking about my next “month” thing that i wanted to do, now that healthy month is over.  one friend (i don’t remember which one of you suggested this, but you’re […]

    Reply
  • 4. playing with my kids, and may. « bononers  |  May 1, 2011 at 21:03

    […] the month of april, and it may have been both one of the easiest, and one of the most difficult self-bettering months that i’ve ever done.   easy because my kids are so awesome to spend time with, but difficult […]

    Reply
  • 5. one month project « bononers  |  November 29, 2011 at 23:40

    […] a time” self-bettering project.  don’t know what i’m talking about?  in short, i like to fix me.  if i want to become the person i want to be, i have to make it happen.  i’m not talking […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


my life in pics

my baby sister is EIGHTEEN!!!! white-girl dance party to wild youtube birthday music, then a mad dash to 7/11 because bday girl has life goals. 
@noah.lebrun @rmal.m great night climbing trees with these monkeys.  family is my favourite :) 3 different types of wool and several froggings later- i finally have my finished star stitch pouch! great pattern by @allaboutami! mistakes aside- i'm happy to have a proper home for my tombows. swipe left to see pics of my creative kids joining me for a crafty afternoon!
#crochet #tombowusa

