summer kick-off

July 3, 2010 at 12:39 Leave a comment

last weekend team gilmore headed down to niagara for my daddy’s annual barbecue.  it happens every year, and every year i blog about it in an attempt to make all of you realize what an awesome family i come from.

every year is a little different, mostly because our [already huge] family is growing and i have 10 or 11 nieces and nephews now (can never keep it straight) plus all of the second-cousins that are being born to my first cousins.  it takes a bit of skill to remember the names of us all, especially since the majority are fair-skinned and blonde-headed.
another thing that makes it a bit different, is that my own little midgets are getting progressively older and more independent.  i actually had time to sit and visit with my sisters and cousins  (and practice some name-remembering skills) without running after my kids every three seconds.  in fact, at the end of the day i realized that i’d hardly seen my kids at the party, and that’s definitely a sign of them getting older.

it was a whirlwind of a weekend, and i hardly have words to explain where the time went.  i just know that the time flew by, and at the end of the weekend i was satisfied with how it was spent.

here’s a picture of my nephew and second-cousin sharing a special moment during dinner.  i think it adequately captures the awesomeness of my big family :)

Entry filed under: goings-on, niagara, sisters.

first time ever i forgot my camera

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


my life in pics

3 different types of wool and several froggings later- i finally have my finished star stitch pouch! great pattern by @allaboutami! mistakes aside- i'm happy to have a proper home for my tombows. swipe left to see pics of my creative kids joining me for a crafty afternoon!
#crochet #tombowusa getting ready for a tasty girls' night! 
#sushi #butcooked one of the biggest and unexpected blessings of youth ministry, is having former youth kids turn into adults who invest in my own children. so thankful to have the amazing @sarahpowerscyr for a violin teacher.

